Allegro from Sechs Kinderstücke, Op. 72

Felix Mendelssohn
Catalog numbers: 

SMC SU275/ HL 3776148

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Clarinet and Piano
The Allegro is one of a set of six pieces written for piano solo which were intended for young pianists called "Sechs Kinderstücke", Op. 72.  This arrangement for clarinet and piano largely assigns the melodic material to the clarinetist.  The range of the clarinet is largely within the lower two registers, making the work ideal for middle school or even advanced elementary school players.