Americans Lost

Catalog numbers: 

SMC S797/ HL 3778525

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Concert Band
Winner of the 2001 Biennial Band Directors National Association Young Band Composition Competition, this four-movement work represents events and emotions when a person returns to the place and time where their loved one passed away.  Inspired first by the school violence and the tragic events at Columbine High School in 1999, then later the attacks in New York City, at the Pentagon, and in Pennsylvania on September 11, 2001, the piece also includes a four stanza poem that explains the composer's feelings as each movement unfolds and which can be read before each movement.  Dedicated to the memory of the Americans who have lost their lives and to the loved ones affected by a loss, with a special dedication to the victims' families of the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001.  Movements: I. Fallen Remembrances, II. Tragedies, III. Ashes to Ashes…, IV. Healing of the Heart