Capriccio on the Departure of His Beloved Brother

J.S. Bach
Catalog numbers: 

SMC ST64/ HL 3775404

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Brass Quintet
This CAPRICCIO (BWV 992), subtitled "Upon the Departure of His Beloved Brother", is an early work of J.S. Bach, possibly modeled on the Biblical Sonatas of Johann Kuhnau.  It is an unusually Romantic-styled piece for Bach.  This transcription of three of the six movements for brass quintet from the original harpsichord was completed by Samuel Adler and is dedicated to the Eastman Brass Quintet.  Movements: I. Arioso: This is a flattery of friends in order to delay his journey, II. Chorale: Finally all friends come, for they realize that nothing can be done but bid farewell, III. Fugue: An imitation of a Posthorn