The Classical Rag

Louis Jendras
Catalog numbers: 

SMC SU334/ HL 3776229

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Woodwind Quintet
"The Classical Rag" was originally composed for string quartet and published under the title "The String Quartet Rag".  Subsequently, editions have been published for string orchestra, violin quartet, brass quintet, and flute choir.  It is intended to be a light-hearted piece, ideally suited for inclusion in programs of a humorous nature.  The astute listener will recognize the presence of themes borrowed from Mozart's "Eine kleine Nachtmusik", and Haydn's Symphony in G Major, the so-called "Surprise Symphony".