Concerto for Bass Trombone and Orchestra

Catalog numbers: 

SMC XR94SC/ HL 3772551

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
2+Picc.2+EH.2+BCl.2: Timp.Perc(2): Str
Written for Bass Trombonist Douglas Yeo in 1990 and premiered in Boston with the New England Conservatory of Music Wind Ensemble, Nelhybel's Concerto is a demanding work in a dramatic style, covering the full range of the bass trombone. It is one of the most significant pieces written for the instrument and has the flexibility of being played with orchestra or wind ensemble (both orchestrations as well as the piano reduction available from the publisher) and requires an advanced player.  This score is a manuscript edition. 3 movements ca. 16' total.