Concerto for Brass Quintet and Orchestra

Catalog numbers: 

SMC R103/ HL 3772204

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Brass Quintet Soli: Perc(6): Str
This showpiece for brass quintet and orchestra was commissioned by Richard Frazier for the Chicago Chamber Brass.  It explores the wide palette of technical and expressive qualities offered by the brass quintet.  These attributes are presented together with, and sometimes in contrast to, the infinitely variable sonorities of the symphony orchestra.  Movements: I. Fast, with energy, II. Moderately slow, sustained, III. Very fast.