Concerto Grosso

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X076012/ HL 40806

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Flute, B-flat Clarinet, Horn, Violin, Cello Soli Timpani.Percussion(1): Strings
Commissioned for the Hochstein Youth Symphony Orchestra, Nancy Strelau, director and a group of faculty soloists for the 2000-01 concert season. The principal motive is derived, in notecodes, from the name “Hochstein” (A-A-C-A-E-F-E-B-G). This theme is presented in numerous guises throughout the work: transformed into plainchant-like motive and spun-out structures in the first movement, and into melodic and propellant motives in the second movement.