Concerto in One Movement for Piano and Orchestra (single performance score)

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X412020/ HL 41737

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Pno/ Pno red
Concerto in One Movement for Piano was written in 1991 for pianist Betty Oberacker and the Santa Barbara Symphony and in 1992 was a finalist for the Kennedy Center Friedheim Music Award. The 25-minute work is multi-sectional, somewhat resembling the four successive contrasting movements of a classical symphony. The composer spent many hours of youth listening to the great piano concertos of the 19th and the early 20th-Centuries including the work of Chopin, Grieg, Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninoff, Ravel and Gershwin. The vital and expressive qualities of these concertos were part of the inspiration for this piece.