Concerto for Violin

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X511053/ HL 259849

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Violin and Piano
The Concerto for Violin was written in early 2012 for Philip Ficsor.  The four movements, conceived separately, are intended to have the feeling of a suite rather than a verbose, heavy interpretation of the concerto form.  The 1st movement, "A Little Parlour Music", carries the subtitle "after Poulenc" in a reflection of the lightness and charm of that composer's work.  The 2nd movments, "Remembrance of Things Past", is the most expressive of the movements.  The 3rd movement, "Santa Barbara Rag", is full of syncopated rhythm and humor with even a slight reference to another well-known rag.  And the 4th movement, "John Adams Light", looks back at the early minimalism of Adams with its repitition and constant motion.  The concerto is available with piano reduction and for rental with the full orchestra accompaniment.