Danza Sinfonica

Catalog numbers: 

SMC S864/ HL 3778788

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Concert Band
"Danza Sinfonica" continues the tradition in classical music of writing works in the Spanish style, established by such works as Verdi's "Il Travatore", Rimsky-Korsakov's "Capriccio Espanole", and Strauss' "Don Quixote."  The work opens with solo marimba and bassoon, followed by brief flurries introducing the principal theme of the piece.  The remainder of "Danza Sinfonica" is cast in a broad three-part format.  The work is permeated with colorful soloist passages, brilliant outbursts by the full band, surprise modulations and splashes of pure instrumental color, as the music transports the listener on a brief journey to the Iberian peninsula for a taste of classic Spanish Flamenco.  "Danza Sinfonica" was commissioned and premiered by the Auburn University Symphonic Band.  The Osaka Municipal Band performed its Japanese premiere.