Easter Symphony: III. Symphonia Resurrectus

Catalog numbers: 

SMC XR78FS/ HL 3772518

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Solo Baritone Voice: SSATB Chorus: 2+1.2.3+Eb Cl+ACl+BCl.2: AATB Saxes: 4.3 Crnt+2 Tpt.3.Euph(TC or BC).2: Timp.Perc(6)
In 1988, Holsinger received a commission to compose a work for the US Marine Band. The resulting work, The Deathtree for winds, percussion and solo baritone voice, was conceived as the middle movement of a 3-part symphony. In 1991 Gustavus Adolphus College commissioned the completion of the symphony's outer movements: Kings and Symphonia Resurrectus, respectively, which were completed in 1996.