An Eastman Overture

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X077011/ HL 40818

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
2+Piccolo.2+English Horn.2+Bass Clarinet.2+ContraBassoon: Timpani.Percussion(4).Harp: Strings
An Eastman Overture incorporates quotes from Bach, Beethoven, and Brahms.  Bach is represented by an excerpt from the "Fantasia and Fugue in A minor."  A fragment from the first movement of Beethoven's "String Quartet, Op. 135 appears in augmentation, and finally a section from Brahms' "Intermezzo in B-flat minor, Op. 117.  Commissioned by and dedicated to the Eastman School of Music.