Fanfare, Interlude, and Finale

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X077300/ HL 41057

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
2(1d Piccolo).1(+1 optional).1.1: Perc(1): Str
The FANFARE was commissioned and premiered by the Washington Festival Orchestra in 1978.  Other orchestras which performed the FANFARE requested additional movements, resulting in the addition of the INTERLUDE and FINALE a few years later, premiered by the Twin Cities Symphony in 1983.  The FANFARE and FINALE are matching movements, each with a lively theme in mixed meters (often juxtaposing 2/2 and 3/8), and each has a slow middle section which leads back to a return of the theme.  The INTERLUDE, is quite different, for it is constructed on gradual transformation of the theme rather than contrast.  FANFARE, INTERLUDE AND FINALE was the first orchestral work composed by Gwyneth Walker after her years of conservatory training, and a spirit of freshness and enthusiasm of a composer starting her professional career can be heard in her approach.