Fifth Symphony: Phoenix

Catalog numbers: 

SMC S844OS/ HL 3778711

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Concert Band
Commissioned in 2000 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the formation of the Japanese Ground Self-Defense Force Central Band in 1951 at the conclusion of Allied occupation.  Scored for a very large band, including six antiphonal trumpets, the work is in four movements: I. Eulogy, II. Scherzo, III. Reverie, and IV. Jubilation.  Subtitled "Phoenix", the composer writes: "Like the legendary Phoenix bird, which self-immolates, then arises from its own ashes more resplendent than ever, Japan has recovered from the massive devastation of World War II to become a greater and more respected nation than ever before."