The Great Wilno

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X410072/ HL 41702

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Piano Solo AB Saxophone Ensemble: 1.1.1+Euphonium.1: Timpani. Percussion(3).Piano
The Great Wilno (1999) for piano and wind ensemble was commissioned by Bob Stata and is dedicated to Robert Blake (pianist), Bob Stata (conductor), and the Allendale Columbia Wind Ensemble. The work is a very brief “romp” for piano and wind ensemble inspired by the poem of the same name by poet Harry Humes—which describes the flight of a human cannonball. The poet has given permission for the poem to be read or reprinted at any performances of this work and it is highly recommended that either be done.