Music in Dark Times

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP R01443/ HL 42456

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
3(3dPicc).3(3dEH).3(2dCl in A; 3dBCl, Cl in Eb).3(3dCbsn): Perc(3): Str
A suite for orchestra in six movements, the work as a whole is in arch form: first the fanfare
written shortly after 9/11 to honor Voice of America, followed by a nostalgic, elegiac look at the past in the Pavane inspired by Fauré and Ravel; then two movements dealing with death, a death dance or tarantella and a funeral march ("Dead March"); finally a second elegiac movement ("Elegy for Strings") followed by a second shorter, perhaps even darker fanfare than the first one. The titles of the movements and their order may suggest what the composer had in mind by calling the work "Music in Dark Times."