Pagan Dances

Catalog numbers: 

SMC S628SC/ HL 173736

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Concert Band
The "Pagan Dances" completes the cycle of four "primitive" works for symphonic band that also includes "Visions Macabre", "Invocation and Toccata" and "Torch Dance".  All of these works employ highly dissonant harmonies, repetitive melodic material and driving rhythm. The work was premiered by the University of Central Arkansas. Movement titles: I. Ritual, II. Mystics, III. The Master of the Sword