Percussion Concerto

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X073015/ HL 40717

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Percussion Solo: 2+Picc.2.2.2(2dCbsn): Timp.Perc(2): Str
The Percussion Concerto was completed in Seattle in June, 2007. It was written for the extraordinary talents of Lisa Pegher and commissioned by a Consortium of seven orchestras. The work is in three movements, with the 2nd and 3rd connected without pause. In the outer movements, the soloist plays a large battery of non-pitched instruments; the second features only the marimba. There are several cadenzas, and opportunities for the soloist to improvise along with the orchestra, always in very structured ways. (2007) ca. 18'