Perpetual Motion

Niccolo Paganini
Catalog numbers: 

SMC S426CS/ HL 3777110

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Concert Band
Niccolo Paganini was the most outstanding violinist of his time.  The "Perpetual Motion" was originally a movement of a sonata for violin and orchestra.  It is generally performed as a piece for violin with piano accompaniment.  In the original version, the solo part was written staccato.  Since it would be impractical for the solo clarinet to articulate staccato at this tempo, the solo parts have been changed to legato.  Additionally, two or more players may be assigned to play both the 1st and 2nd solo clarinet parts.