Quartet for Horns

Dennis Leclaire
Catalog numbers: 

SMC ST855SC/ HL 3775693

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Horn Quartet
The QUARTET FOR HORNS, opus 22 by Dennis Leclaire was premiered at the Berklee Performance Center by the Boston Opera Horn Quartet, and was chosen by the Society of Composers for the New Music Festival.  The first four notes of the piece form a cell out of which all three movements are generated.  The four notes are used both as a tonal center for each movement and to generate melodic ideas.  In a demonic chase, the third movement pays homage to the horn's heritage as an instrument of the hunt.