Rasputin: Suite from the Ballet

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X077583/ HL 141935

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
3(3dPicc).3.3(3dBcl).2+Cbsn: 4.4(in Bb).3.1: Timp(dPerc).Perc(3).Hp.Synth.Org: Str
Prior to 1991 Ukranian master composer Yevhen Stankovych’s works were regularly censored or banned by Soviet authorities.  The ballet "The Agony:  Rasputin" (originally titled "Prometheus") was one such work. This suite from the ballet highlights Stankovych’s uniquenely pronounced affinity with the vernacular, blending folk motifs with orchestral colors in multilayered polyphony. "Rasputin" was first performed with its original music and libretto in 1989 in Skopje, Macedonia.