Saint Saens Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso Op. 28, Critical Urtext Edition

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP S511021/ HL 141931

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Violin, Piano
The Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso for Violin and Orchestra was originally intended to be the rousing Finale to Saint-Saëns’ First Violin Concerto, op.20. Saint-Saëns’ favorite violinist Pablo de Sarasate gave the first performance in 1867 in Paris with the Composer conducting. In 1869 Saint-Saëns entrusted his younger colleague Georges Bizet to create a reduction of the orchestra score for Violin and Piano. The composer’s autograph score and the first edition of the work were the primary source material for this publication.