Sixth Symphony

Catalog numbers: 

SMC S925FS/ HL 3779029

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
This symphony, commissioned by and dedicated to Roy Holder and his wonderful Lake Braddock High School Band, is both shorter and simpler to play than the composer's other symphonies, but it loses nothing in terms of integrity or profundity.  The first movement, "Andante, ma non troppo," casts a brooding mood in the somber key of D minor, the second movement, "Adagio" is lyrical, while the final movement, "Allegro energico," begins powerfully before moving to a dreamy, ghost-like middle section before finally returning to the initial material.