String Quartet No. 1

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X504003/ HL 41792

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
String Quartet
Pulitzer Prize winning composer George Walker's first string quartet was composed in 1946 after his graduation from the Curtis Institute of Music and debut as a prodigious piano soloist with Eugene Ormandy and the Philadelphia Orchestra.  The first movement presents strongly contrasting themes in a clearly defined sonata form.  The second Adagio movement would later become the basis of Walker's most popular work, Lyric for Strings.  The third movement is a large-scaled rondo which closes with a reflective coda.