Suite in B-flat Major

George Frideric Handel
Catalog numbers: 

SMC B236.06/ HL 3770332

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Woodwind Quintet
This suite is comprised of instrumental pieces picked from a few of Handel’s 46 operas.  “Serse” was written in London in 1738, “Amadigi” produced at the King’s Theatre in 1715, “Faramondo”, 1738 and “Scipione”, 1726.  They were originally written for strings, oboes and continuo.  Movement titles include: I. Ouverture, II. Sarabande, III. Gavotte, IV. Minuet, V. Sinfonia.  This particular suite is extracted from a larger collection of 18 Woodwind Quintets arranged by Ross Taylor that includes works by Grieg, Bach, Mozart, Purcell, Sibelius, Handel, Mendelssohn, Berlioz, Wagner, and Schubert.  The collection is also available by the publisher (B236).