Symphony No. 2

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP R00369/ HL 43252

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
2.2(1d EH).2(1d Picc, Clarinet, 1d BCl).2(1d Cbsn): 2(+2 opt).2(2d Picc Tpt).0.0: Perc(1).Hpscd(d Pno).Hp(+Hp 2 opt): Str (min.
Composed on commission from the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, Hartke's second symphony was mostly written in the latter part of 1990 and is dedicated to the memory of his father. While cast in three distinct movements, dramatically the work is intended to be all of a piece.