Symphony No. 3

Catalog numbers: 

EBM EBM220343/ HL 220343

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
3(Pi)343 4331 Timp Hp Cel Str
The Symphony No. 3 of Roger Sessions was written in 1957. It was a result of a commission by the Koussevitzky Foundation to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Boston Symphony Orchestra, and was premiered by the Boston Symphony on December 6, 1957, conducted by Charles Munch. Sessions later was commissioned by the Boston Symphony on their centenary, when he provided them with his Concerto for Orchestra. Andrea Olmstead describes all of Sessions's symphonies as "serious" and "funereal", with No. 3 being one of four with, "quiet reflective endings."