Symphony No. 4

Catalog numbers: 

EBM EBM220348/ HL 220348

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
3343 4331 Timp Pc Pno/Cel Hp Str
The Symphony No 4 of Roger Sessions was composed in 1958. It is comprised of three movements: Burlesque, Elegy and Pastorale. The symphony was commissioned by the Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra for the Minnesota Centennial, and premiered by the Minnesota Orchestra conducted by Antal DorĂ¡ti on January 2, 1960. The second movement's basically slow tempo is interrupted twice by faster episodes This movement was intended as an elegy for the composer's brother, John, who died in 1948. The finale, also slow, increases in intensity towards its close. Andrea Olmstead describes all of Sessions's symphonies as "serious" and "funereal".