Symphony No. 5

Catalog numbers: 

EBM EBM220344/ HL 220344

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
3343 4231 Timp Pc Pno/Cel Hp Str
The Symphony No. 5 of Roger Sessions was commissioned in 1960 and completed in 1964.[1][2][3] It was commissioned by Eugene Ormandy and the Philadelphia Orchestra, and the first movement only was premiered by them in February 1964,[3] the rest not being completed until that December. It is in three connected movements, with a pause after the first.[2] It is scored for three flutes, three oboes, four clarinets, three bassoons, four horns, two trumpets, three trombones, one tuba, timpani, percussion, piano, harp and strings.[4] Andrea Olmstead describes all of Sessions's symphonies as "serious" and "funereal", with No. 5 being one of four with, "quiet reflective endings."