Third Symphony Op. 89

Catalog numbers: 

SMC S692FS/ HL 3778092

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Concert Band
The Third Symphony stands today as one of Barnes' most personal and emotionally charged works. Commissioned by the US Air Force Band under Col. Alan Bonner, it was begun in earnest shortly after the tragic loss of the composer's baby daughter Nataile. The work progresses from the deepest darkness of despair all the way to the brightness of fullfillment and joy. The massive structure encompassed four movements: Lento; Scherzo; Fantasia "Natalie"; and a joyful "Finale."