When Nod Dreams

Arthur Woodbury
Catalog numbers: 

SMC SU346/ HL 3776244

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Flute, Oboe, Clarinet
"To Nod, who… sailed off… on a river of crystal light.  into a sea of dew…" - Eugene Field (1850-1895).  About this piece for woodwind trio, the composer says, "Rarely does one come across a spirit epitomizing the life-affirming qualities we admire, and which possesses a vibrancy of beeing reflecting our ideal of pure and positive energy.  One rejoices to discover such a spirit… and even more when it takes the form of cat."  Movements: I. Nod's Dream, II. Nod at Play, III. Lament for Nod, IV. Danse Macabre.  Versions for flute, oboe and clarinet and two oboes and English horn are available from the publisher.